Shout out to Ed Sheeran

“Love can change the world in a moment
But what do I know?”

This past week I’ve still been job hunting, which made the road trip to Tulsa to see Ed Sheeran in concert the perfect getaway from it all, even if it was just for a day. The day of the concert my boyfriend and I started out early to take our time as well as make a couple stops before we headed to the AirBNB we rented. Now that AirBNB was a huge disappointment and I’ll spare you the lengthy details, but we were both upset with the lack of toilet paper, cleaning supplies and the apartment being dirty. We are hoping to get a refund on the apartment.

One of the reasons I decided to pick the specific apartment that we did was because of the convenience of the short walk to the BOK Center in Tulsa. It was only a 12-minute walk from the apartment, and free parking at the AirBNB means everything to a College student. We didn’t want to deal with the heavy traffic and trying to find cheap/free parking downtown on a Thursday night. It also meant saving gas – woo hoo!!

Once we got inside the BOK Center, we made a straight dash to our seats which were definitely nosebleed seats, but it’s the experience of being part of the live concert that makes the difference. The seating to us didn’t make any difference – nosebleed or front row – we were still seeing the same concert and it was AMAZING. The first act was James Blunt – who was an alright act – but we all know everyone is there for Ed. When Ed came on stage, the whole atmosphere of the building changed from excited to ecstatic.

20685128_1635926849760150_4742435233918353408_n
Our view from our seats, in my opinion were pretty great seats.

Now I wasn’t a huge Ed fan before I started dating my boyfriend, but he got me to start listening to all of his music and I’ve got to say he is an incredible artist. For anyone who doesn’t know this about Ed Sheeran, he actually uses a loop-board for his songs and concerts. He doesn’t have a guitarist, drummer or a bass player, most of his background music is something he creates himself. (Here is a link to show you how he does it. Ed Sheeran – “Shape of You” ) That’s one of the biggest things that fascinates me about him. Most artists lean towards having other band members, but Ed is one man show and it’s the best thing ever. If you don’t think you’ve heard one of his songs, here is a link to one of his biggest songs before “Shape of You” and “Castle on the Hill”.

Don’t

Photograph

Since this was my boyfriend and I’s first time seeing him in concert, we were both singing as loud as we could until our vocal cords were sore. Every song that Ed started to play from his new album “Divide” and his old one, “Multiply” we were singing right along with him. We didn’t have a care in the world if people were annoyed by us. To me, that’s the whole point of going to a concert! You may not ever get the chance to hear that artist live again, and if you don’t want to hear people singing along at a concert….you should just save your money and just listen to the album at home. If you don’t sing, dance or sway….why do you even buy the ticket? I guess not everyone has the mom that I have the opportunity to have growing up, she always made sure I made the most of the experiences we went to, because we don’t usually have much money to splurge. So when we do splurge, we go out and make sure to enjoy every bit of it.

20685178_1635908676428634_4912636979608289280_n
A little dark, but our picture before the concert started.

My boyfriend and I did just that, we seat-danced, sang and danced while standing and screamed at the top of our lungs before and after every song of Ed’s….because that’s the only way I’ve known to get the most out of the experience. It’s something that I hope to teach my children in the future, so they can pass it down to their kids one day. I will continue to enjoy every experience whether that be; a concert, a movie, a play, going on a road trip or just spending time with family and friends. That’s how I would rather live my life than be still during a really good song, or not spend that money on a movie/play that I may not see again, or pass on the opportunity to go on a road trip even if it is for a day or a week. That’s not how I was taught, and I’m glad my mom taught me to never take small things for granted, or to miss out of the bigger things in life.

I want to share with you a couple of my favorite songs of his, in case you might not have heard any of new songs.

Galway Girl

Perfect

And old one of his…All of The Stars

Even if you don’t like Ed Sheeran’s music, I’m sure you have some artist you really love. Who is your favorite artist/singer? Leave me a link to their music. I’d love to try new music all the time.

From the Ashes,

The Rising Phoenix


Leave a comment